top of page

How do I manage my energy?

Updated: Jan 28, 2021

Why do we need to manage our energy? We've all complained about not having enough time to either do school work, spend time with friends and family, that we are too busy with work, or that we are working on a major project and can't make time to care for ourselves. The question is: How do we find more time? 


I always tell my family members that same line every single time when they ask if I'm available, “I don’t have the time”. What I discovered, however, is that if you follow a ritual to exercise at least 3 times a week, eat the right food (nutrition), and practice self-care (meditation, sauna, etc.), you will develop more endurance, stamina, and energy to do so many things that you could not before.

Another thing you can do is know yourself. I am an early bird. I get more things done in the morning than I do in the evening. So I actively decide I would wake up at 7:15 a.m. or earlier, most days and go to the gym before I start my day. Exercising is great for stress relief, building lean muscle, feeling stronger, getting your energy pumping, and all-that feel-good feeling. If possible, if your gym offers a sauna room I would highly suggest that you use it. 



I would also advise that you do resistance training. Why? Because:


1. You Will be physically stronger

2. You Will lose body fat

3. You Will gain strength without bulk.  (Unlike men, women typically don't gain too much size from strength training in certain cases. Because compared to men, women have 10 to 30 times less of the hormones that cause muscle hypertrophy. You will, however, develop muscle tone and definition. This is a bonus.)

4. You can decrease your risk of Osteoporosis, Heart disease, Diabetes, any disease in general.

5. You Will improve your athletic performance: Strength training improves athletic ability in everyone.

6. You Will reduce your risk of injury, back pain, and arthritis.

7. It Is Never too Late to Benefit: Women in their 70s and 80s have built up significant strength through weight training and studies show that strength improvements are possible at any age.

8. You Will improve your attitude and Fight Depression: Women who strength train commonly report feeling more confident and capable as a result of their program, all important factors in fighting depression.


A well-rounded fitness program includes strength training to improve joint function, bone density, muscle, tendon, and ligament strength, as well as aerobic exercise to improve your heart and lung fitness, flexibility, and balance.


Another important thing is NUTRITION. Why nutrition? As per the National Health and Medical Research Council of the Australian Government. Eating a balanced diet improves a person's health and well-being and reduces risks of major causes of death. Nutrition is not just for you to look and feel good but It REALLY improves your overall health. For high-achievers, it helps individuals attain optimal health. Food is a source of energy, vitamins, minerals, protein, and essential fats that are all needed by the body to live, grow, and function properly.

Last but not least, Practice self-care. Do meditation or Yoga, clear that mind and thinking for at least 5-10 minutes a day and see the difference in how you can perform throughout the day. According to studies done by neuroscientists, meditation helps balance out all the dials and levers in your brain, helping you better process both physical and emotional pain. 


Now you have some of the tips I ritualistically practice day-in and day-out. I have seen significant changes in my life. I’m much happier, less stressed, more productive, and more energetic. 

If you want to start managing your energy but are still unsure where to start and need more of a personalized nutrition plan. I can help. Please give me a shout so I can assist you to be a better you. 


Reference



 

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page